Two New Journey Members Announced by Neal Schon


Journey has a rhythm section again.

Founding guitarist Neal Schon took to Twitter late tonight to announce that Randy Jackson and Narada Michael Walden will become the band’s new bass player and drummer, respectively.

You can see Journey’s new lineup performing a socially distanced version of “Don’t Stop Believin'” for the UNICEF: We Won’t Stop fundraising event below. A third new musician, so far credited by Schon on Facebook only as “Jason D,” appears in the video as well. Fan comments suggest that this person is keyboardist and vocalist Jason Derlatka.

This will be a return engagement for longtime American Idol judge Jackson, who was a member of Journey from 1985 to 1987, appearing on their 1986 Raised on Radio album. Walden is a renowned songwriter, singer and producer who has drummed in Mahavishnu Orchestra and alongside Jeff Beck, Tommy Bolin and Robert Fripp.

Ross Valory, who played bass for Journey from 1973 until 1985 and 1995 until earlier this year, and Steve Smith, who has served three stints at the group’s drummer since 1979, were fired by the group earlier this year. Court documents filed by a lawyer representing Schon and keyboardist Jonathan Cain accused the duo of launching an “ill-conceived corporate coup d’etat” in an effort to take control of the band’s name.

Last month, Valory countersued Schon and Cain, charging them with breach of contract and emotional distress. He is seeking “past and future compensatory damages,” as well as asking a judge to decide who has the right to use the band’s name going forward.

Journey was to have kicked off a North American tour with opening act the Pretenders earlier this month, but were forced to cancel those plans as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Source link

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit

Contest Newsletter Signup

Never Miss New Content

subscribe now!